CrazyBoards.org

For bipolar...

I'm kind of new to the med combinations (Topamax and Wellbutrin are the only ones that have worked for me). I read on these boards about the meds making people forgetful, dumb, not able to concentrate, etc. I have also heard about effect form Topamax. I am also currenlty experiencing it!

Are there any meds that don't have this effect? Is it an individual difference/trial-and-error thing? Are there any supplemental meds that help get rid of this?

I have noticed a considerable difference between 0 mg, 100mg and 200mg of Topamax and I'm on 100 mg now. So what are the options? I don't need intelligence deficiencies in addition to emotional instability!! ;)

It seems to me that this is one of the 'try it and see' areas of the 'science' of psychiatry. Some meds make some people dumb, just like some meds work for some, not for others, have horrendous side effects for others yet etc etc. The conclusion I've come to is that you figure out what you're prepared to put up with in the cost-benefit analysis of meds: this is how I ended up coming off them altogether, as i wasn't prepared to put up with the increasing memory-loss that seroquel was giving me. If you're not happy with the side effects of a med, and aren't prepared to make that particular trade-off, tell your psychiatrist and between you work something out.

(I'm quite lucky with my psychiatrist, in that he seems to recognise that I am an intelligent, strong-minded person and if I raise something like this with him then he can't put me back in my box and force me to keep taking the drug. I know others' experiences have varied when trying to take a hand in their own treatment.)

Hope you find a solution!

xx

When it comes to Topamax, the "stupids" tend to be really dose specific.

Many people who get the stupids at 100mg find they don't have them at 200mg.

But it is really a person by person thing.

I'm on 400mg a day (epilepsy & mood stabilization) and I'm no where as dumbed