CrazyBoards.org

Ok, this is a tough one

Ok, I've been on every atypical exept Clozaril. I was on Zyprexa for over a year. Risperdal for almost a year. Now I take Haldol ubt it doesn't work well. Thats another post though.

So, I gained over 130 lbs that will never come off. I also have a new problem. I get these quasidiabetic symptoms of I don't eat every couple of hours. I'm not officially diabetic and everytime there has been at test it's been normal. So, what gives? I have to eat something with carbs every couple of hours most days and if I don't I get really sick. shaking, headaches, nausea, difficulty thinking, etc.

Any thoughts at all? I know this is a tough one and if you are a bigger geek than me you might know someting. I can't figure it out.

TIA

i am not technically diabetic. in fact, i have very LOW blood sugar. my doctor told me i am hypoglycemic and "pre diabetic" meaning that my body is showing signs of difficulty with sugars but my blood sugar itself is still in the safe zone.

i just stick to a no refined sugar diet (and low refined flour and low salt), exercise (i need to get in more walking) and eat every two to four hours around the clock and try to help my body not have to become fully diabetic.

you might be in a similar situation. i'd say keep eating when you need to, but watch what you eat, get in as much walking as you can (which is somehow better for my blood sugar than any other form of exercise... fast walking a mile a day), and keep an eye on your blood sugar ;)

abi

I was first diagnosed as diabetic some 17 years ago (gosh, that's hard for me to believe it's been that long) and the symptoms you describe sound like low blood sugar. Blood sugar that is way high, just makes you feel really sluggish. It sound like you are, like abifae, hypoglycemic right now. Then again, I'm not a doctor, just a crazy diabetic.

Tommy

Doesn't sound unusual. I have those same issues. Pre-diabetic symptoms. It's a warning sign.