CrazyBoards.org

New to the Bipolar Tribe

Umm, hi, so I finally found the right place to introduce myself, though I'm not too sure what to say...

I've been working with a wonderful tdoc for about three years off and on (off during Augusts, of course, and when she takes occasional sabbaticals - like now - she won't be back till October). We decided together that I needed the help of an AD, at least temporarily - I'd been med-free for several years after using Prozac for about three. Finally quit that when it stopped working so well and the side effects got to be more of a pain in the ass than it was worth.

So my GP prescribes Effexor - damn, I feel great! What the hell was I so depressed about? Life's a fucking miracle! I'm gonna go back to school, write my novel, do a triathalon, save the world...

Um, yeah. And I'm driving too fast, talking too fast, making mistakes at work, barely sleeping at all (two hours a night if I'm lucky.)

So I had the sense to get the hell off that and call my GP, who decides I should try Cymbalta. Well, I had one full night of sleep after a couple days off the Effexor and before starting the Cymbalta, which was a damn good thing, because the Cymbalta got me going all over again.

(And I felt SOOOO GOOD, I wouldn't have stopped it, except for the never sleeping part. And the fact that I was driving so fast, and so easily distracted, that I came very close to having an accident on my 40-minute commute to work. And my family and friends looking at me REALLY strange and wondering what the hell was the matter with me.)

Umm, so luckily, my GP is pretty well versed in mental health (don't really like that term but don't know what else to say) and agrees with me that the ADs are making me manic. (I don't think the dx was that difficult, given the state I was in, but I've had other GPs be completely skeptical and ignorant about mental health issues, so it was a relief.)