CrazyBoards.org

OMG I just got and email about my bloodwork results and they show that my cholesterol levels are high where that should be low and low where they should be high. Does this mean my liver is shutting down? (that you lamictal!) or does this mean that I'm prediabetic? (Thank you zyprexa!) Any help/experience would be great as I probably won't see the pdoc for a few weeks (thank you summer vacation [hers, not mine])

I'm no doctor (not even close), but I didn't realize that cholesterol levels had anything to do with liver function or diabetes - just heart disease.

Okay... I just looked it up on webmd.com and there's apparently some connection between high cholesterol and diabetes, but only that people with diabetes are more likely to have high cholesterol:

Diabetes can upset the balance between HDL and LDL cholesterol levels. People with diabetes tend to have LDL particles that stick to arteries and damage blood vessel walls more easily. Glucose (a type of sugar) attaches to lipoproteins (a cholesterol-protein package that enables cholesterol to travel through blood). Sugar-coated LDL remains in the blood-stream longer and may lead to the formation of plaque. People with diabetes tend to have low HDL and high triglyceride (another kind of blood fat) levels, both of which boost the risk of heart and artery disease.

Did you also have your glucose levels checked?

ETA: what were your cholesterol levels, anyway?

ETA: what were your cholesterol levels, anyway?

My levels are Cholesterol is 226

triglycerides 260

HDL 32

LDL 142

But I'm only 30, (if it matters)

ETA: I did have a blood sugar test, but it wasn't available online probably because it's off the charts or something.

Ouch. What's your diet like? Family history?