CrazyBoards.org

can pdocs tell what drugs you need by drawing blood?

hello all!

several times i have heard of pdocs that test your blood to see what drugs you can take or that you need. something like that.

is this true? anyone do this? how does it work?

i know it is expensive. but, if it works, i would be willing to pay.

thank you for your input!

kathryn

hello all!

several times i have heard of pdocs that test your blood to see what drugs you can take or that you need. something like that.

is this true? anyone do this? how does it work?

kathryn

Well, I am not a doctor, but I do know that my doc did some "blood serum level" tests before I was put on certain drugs. Some drugs like Lithium and Depakote (Epival in Canada) will affect organs in your body. If I am not mistaken, the most common is the liver. It seems that all drugs these days can affect your liver.

I suspect that any tests done before putting you on drugs or adjusting strengths would be to see what your "serum levels" are at.

In fact, I have to get my blood taken this week...thankfully though I live in Canada, and socialized medecine means it is free to me (except for the huge amounts of tax I pay).

Castor

The only blood tests I'm aware of is one that was introduced in the last year or two that checks your liver genes to tell what Cytochrome P pathways you have that are fast or slow metabolisers. Theorectically a doctor could compare that agains the metabolic pathway for each drug and decide whether you would need a high or low dosage, or perhaps shouldn't use that drug at all. From a practical standpoint, the present sense of physicians is that the tests are far in advance of their ability to apply the information.