CrazyBoards.org

Duration of Lamictal-induced muscle weakness

Hi there. I'm new to this forum - I discovered it when googling for information on Lamictal.

I've had a variety of side-effects while titrating up very slowly - such as muscle aches, skin-peeling (localised to one hand, mainly), switches between agitation/anxiety and utter fatigue, a brief period (1 week) of "pseudo-hypomania" (though I was concerned where it might lead), cognitive blunting etc et al. I've been patient with these side-effects as I know from past experience with meds they usually resolve themself - and they have.

Except one side-effect: muscle weakness. At this stage I'm only up to 150 mgs of lamictal. Have been there for nearly a week and will remain on that dosage for another week until I titrate up to 200. So, obviously, my body is still adjusting to this new medicine.

I'm concerned though because I'm a composer and professional musician - I play keyboards and saxophone. It was with the saxophone that I really noticed the muscle weakness. Because I use a demanding mouthpiece and strong reed, playing saxophone requires a lot of embouchure strength (that is, strength in the lips, cheeks, face). Lamictal has profoundly reduced my strength and endurance. Additionally, my muscles feel shakey and tingly inside, like free-floating static, although there is no corresponding akathisia - it's not unpleasant, just weird. I'm hoping the muscle weakness will fade with time because Lamictal is otherwise beginning to work well for me in terms of elevated mood and all-round stabilisation.

Has anyone experienced this effect, and does it eventually fade? Because if it doesn't, I will have to go off this med which otherwise has been so helpful - and that concerns me greatly.