CrazyBoards.org

question about hallucinations

I've been told that pretty much everyone hallucinates. How true is that? How can one know for sure when it's "normal" and can be attributed to extenuating circumstances, and when it's "abnormal" and a bipolar warning and in need of medical attention?

I was working the night shift at work, closing the franchise that's open later than all the rest, and absolutely dead tired when the countertop got wavy for a few seconds, making the cleaning rag momentarily resemble a blobby blue ship on a stormy sea. It was only there for a few seconds, and it's the only maybe potentially bipolar-y symptom I'm experiencing right now (apart from the depression-based ordinary), but it was still unsettling. There haven't been any other maybe-hallucinations since.

Is this something to be worried about? I'm new to this bipolar thing.

We all get hallucinations at some degree. This sounds like something you might want to mention to your pdoc, but I wouldn't be worried about it since you were tired. I see all kinds of strange things when I'm tired.

Hallucinations fascinates me, I've had them somewhat most of my life, but now they're totally gone, thanks to antipsychotics. It's nice in some ways, I can concentrate better without seeing flowers in my head constantly, but I miss them too.

i had a serious hallucination last month.  it was like in a horror movie.  a little ghostly boy starring at me in the mirror.  i told my pdoc and she increased my zyprexa, go figure.  i see sun spot all the time and they are starting to take shapes.  i would tell your pDoc and as long as you know they are not real you should be ok.  once you start interacting with them you may have a problem.

Guest Guest_Quixote_*