CrazyBoards.org

provigil anyone?

I've taken it for fatigue. It helps a little, but not significantly. Check out the CNS Stimulants board - I'm pretty sure Velvet Elvis copied over a bunch of stuff on it from the old board.

Iwas thinking of asking my pdoc about it, because between my seroquel and klonopin and etc.., I am very sleepy ,especially sinceI keep having to increase my seroquel. It takes me awhile to get over the sedation. It's fine now, because I am a teacher and off for the summer. But when I start back in the fall(assuming I get a job-my last principal fired me after I had a nervous breakdown at work and had to take med. leave-"YOU are a very good teacher, but I think you have too many issues to work out"-unquote-)

Here's another question: is it more or less effective than caffeine? And does it have an effect on anxiety? Okay, I know, that was 2. Sorry! ;) mel

It doesn't make me jittery like caffeine does. I've never found caffeine to be particularly helpful for anything, though. I would think it'd be less likely to worsen anxiety than caffeine. Anxiety is listed as a "common" side effect on the PI sheet, but the FDA definition of "common" is way too broad in my opinion.

Here's another question: is it more or less effective than caffeine? And does it have an effect on anxiety? Okay, I know, that was 2. Sorry! ;) mel

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Hi mel1,

My pdoc gave me some Provigil to try out because of agitation, (my) quiet rage, and lack of motivation. Unfortunately, it was right when I was going off Effexor so I decided to drop it until that was out of the way because I didn't know if it was helping or hindering things.

His thinking on it was that I would get more focused, motivated and something about hitting the creative portion of my brain.  To me, those seem to be the opposite of anxiety....

I'm sorry I don't have anything concrete. I'll probably start up on it again in the next week or so, so I'll let you know.

Ruins