CrazyBoards.org

Is this manic?

I don't really know. Im kinda new to this bipolar stuff. All I know is I can't go to the store to pick up a *few* things. I end up spending a couple hundred dollars. Or, I just go to the store to spend that kind of money. We are now in credit card debt up to about $20,000, and I just can't stop spending. Online, in stores, whatever. I buy clothes, necessities, jewelry, shoes, makeup, stuff I never really thought about getting but when I saw it, I bought it because it looked neat. Last time I talked to my tdoc about it, she wasn't totally sure it was a mania. She said we would keep an eye on it. Last night I got it in my head that i needed a new scale. I couldn't sleep because I had to have this new scale. So, I got up, went to Walmart, and bought a scale at 1am. The kicker? I got it home, and the damn thing didn't even work, I have to take it back today! I bought one online that was even more expensive. I don't tell my husband about all my spending because Im afraid to. I almost feel like Im addicted to shopping. My pdoc is on vacation for a while, and I don't see him again for 2 months. I feel good, I had been really depressed and feeling crappy, and now that Im finally feeling good, Im afraid to mess with the meds. So, for those of you who know more than me on this subject, what do you think? I see my tdoc on Thursday, as long as I can find someone to watch my kids for me.

- Keep in mind that shopping/spending can be a pleasurable experience that takes ones mind off problems or even an addiction that is a psychiatric illness by itself.