CrazyBoards.org

unemployed and staying that way?

I have had a rough time keeping a job. I am a teacher and have been "let go" of my last 3 jobs. I have applied for numerous positions and get no interview. calling doesn't help or e-mailing. i just got my 5 yr. professional cert. in the mail and i'm afraid it is going to sit there collecting dust next to my college diploma. both took me a great deal of time, work and money. i could sub., but i couldn't survive on the income and no ins. also it is hit and miss- not steady employment.school starts in 3 weeks and i don't have a job. my dh keeps pointing out to me that i never get hired until right before school starts. (yes-that really sucks-not knowing all summer). i'm still worried and it's sucking.

i even have looked into other counties and private schools. sick of it. mel

I think it's pretty much the same all over. They always get vacancies or no-shows just as school is starting. In the mean time, if you want to keep your toe in teaching, then sign up to sub and keep hunting for positions to take over when someone leaves.

The last three years haven't been the most stable for you, yet you've done an amazingly well just KEEPING a job through all this. As you perfect your meds and have longer periods of stability, you should do better on the job and present a more "normal" appearance to those who matter. So, hang in there and keep plugging.

If you can't teach then you might find jobs in the business office of companies interesting, dealing with money, finance, billing and bugdeting.

good luck.

a.m.