CrazyBoards.org

What to do when you think your doctor might be wrong?

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie with a burning question.

When I was 16, I visited my first psychiatrist because I was feeling depressed. He had me try several antidepressants - prozac, zoloft, celexa, effexor, lexapro, wellbutrin, and paxil - and within a few months I was manic, sleepless, paranoid, and suicidal. I was a straight-A student, but I dropped out of school ;) After two hospitalizations, I got a diagnosis - bipolar I.

I tried a bunch of medications - unfortunately, gained tons of weight, too - and finally found something that worked for me. I've been on Trileptal (with other medications on and off) for a few years now, and I'm doing better than I ever expected: I'm 21, alive, going to school full-time, and moving out of my parents' house this fall.

My current psychiatrist - who I've been seeing for about a year and a half - recently told me that she thinks I'm not bipolar at all... and that I can get off all my meds in 3 weeks. Her reasoning: I haven't had a major, life-disturbing episode in all the time she's seen me. I told her that I still do have mood swings, but less extreme than they were untreated. I still tend to be impulsive, but I've gotten better at curbing my impulses over time. My doctor said that if I truly *were* bipolar, I wouldn't just fantasize about killing myself, I'd actually be doing it. If I were actually bipolar, I'd be much more self-destructive... I'd be in debt, I'd be doing drugs, etc.

She says that I just have problems with emotion regulation... and really bad insomnia as well. She suspects that I have some kind of trauma in my past (?) that's causing my problems... even though I told her I can't recall any such trauma.