CrazyBoards.org

Slightly Afraid of Adderall XR

I've been prescribed Adderall XR 5mg once daily in order to treat my ADD. I'm hesitant to take it, as I've little experience with stimulants. Things to know:

- Slightly elevated blood pressure.

- Could stand to lose some weight.

- Currently on other medications for various conditions including anxiety & panic disorder.

- Average daily caffeine intake is below 100mg.

- Prescribed albuterol, Xopenex (not to be used together, obviously) and Advair (contains Serevent, which is a relative of albuterol).

- Prior experience with Wellbutrin was unpleasant, but that may've been due to starting on too high of a dose/not being accustomed to stimulants.

- Previous issues with chest pain, but recent EKG results were perfect.

- The prescribing doctor is aware of all the medications I take, and is both diligent and responsible, as am I. Read that again, just to make sure you know.

That said, do I have anything to worry about? I obsess over side-effects that have the most infinitesimal chance of actually being experienced, and generally worry myself sick. Given that 5mg is a tiny dose, especially for someone my size (height and weight), should I have any concern?

Basically, I want to take the medication and improve my concentration without dying or making matters worse by adding another problem. People depend on my being alive, and I'd rather not jeopardize that, which I hope is understandable.

So, any input? Thanks in advance.

That is a tiny tiny dose. The max you can take per day is 60mgs, just to give you an idea.

The purpose of giving you that small a dose is check for side effects. It probably won't help much. It won't turn you into a newt either. At this dose you'll be able to tell if you start to feel vaguely newtlike without being at risk of full fledged transformation.