CrazyBoards.org

I have been scribbling in class since I've been a freshman in college (i'm in my fifth/final year now). It started out in one of my classes where we were all facing each other in a circle. Before that I was used to most of my classes being in rows. I had (and have) a fear of facing people while I'm sitting in a desk. I don't feel claustrophobic, it's more like I feel trapped and I find it really hard to look at people.

Anyways, to not deal with looking at people, I started just spending more time taking notes. I don't really *have* to take a lot of notes to understand what's going on in class. I feel like I do understand most of the time what a professor is saying and don't have to furiously write verbatim, it's just that I don't know what to do with myself. It seems like everyone else is relaxed, but when I get in an environment like a large or small group circle of people in a class, I feel tense like I'm about to lose my mind.

I don't think it's what you call a panic attack, because I don't have the physical symptoms like sweating, but I do feel like I'm losing control and losing my mind because I just *can't* interact like I see everyone else doing. So for example, while everyone else in class is having a group discussion without even paper or pen in front of them, I *have* to have my notebook open and my pen in hand or else I can't cope.