Are most BP's on meds?

OK...I'm new to this BP game...I am trying to read as much as possible to help my husband.  When I read these postings of you guys talking about cycling and being manic and/or depressed...is it while you are currently medicated?  I really don't mean to sound so stupid, it's just that when my husband is medicated he's never had bipolar symptoms.  Only when he slyly stopped taking them because he hates the side effects and I figured it out...or when he totally quit them altogether.  The only medicated episodes he's ever had was when he was only on AD's...they triggered hypomania.  That's what lead to his BP dx. 

Thanks for any info, and also we are in the Atlanta, GA are and want to join a support group.  I've read about the one posted at this site, if anyone knows of anymore in my area please fill me in on them...

~Peace~

Kim

Are most BPs on meds?  Globally, probably not, but a good number of them haven't even been diagnosed yet.  Out of the diagnosed bipolar population, pretty much all of us need meds if we're to maintain a stable life, but not all of us *want* meds.  Hypomania has its perks.  It's terrible to think of giving up all the good stuff, especially if you aren't in a frame of mind to remember all of the bad. 

I've been terribly lucky with meds so far.  I've been diagnosed for four months, and I already think my meds might be working.  There are some weird side effects, and I won't REALLY believe I'm stable until I've seen it day in day out for six months or longer, but I really seem to be stabilizing.  Yay for me!  For many others, it takes months (if not years) to find the correct medications for them.