CrazyBoards.org

Trazodone question?

I just recently saw a new Pdoc at emergency clinic. To help my benzo overuse she Rx'd trazodone 100mgs to be taken as both a sleep med and anti-anxiety med. Take at bedtime was the advice, the prob comes in as when bedtime is for me. I have been off work presently so I have stayed up longer than usual - so I take med at 10 pm fall asleep around 10:30 or 11:00 - when I wake at say 8:00 am I am pretty hungover and still sedated. No problem, Iam at home now.

I have to return to work soon - I start work at 5:00am - I am usually up by 3:30am I need lots of time to wake up and get to work. Also I drive for a living - To be able to rise at 3:30am and function, I am going to have to really back up the time I take this med and be functional. I usually go to bed when working at 9:00pm or earlier, so taking med then is not going to allow me to function at 3:30am. I think I will need 10 hours between taking med and getting up, this being the case I would have to take med at 5:30pm. This is going to make me sleepy to early and probably be not as effective by 9:00pm. I've noticed there is 30min - 60min after taking the med when it does really help you sleep. So I dont what know how the f... i'm going to handle this situation. Any Ideas?

One more thing: 3 months ago I was rxd oxazepam(30mgs) as a sleep med and anxiety med. I was told by new Pdoc that taking oxazepam on a daily basis, with my other benzos, would INCREASE depression. I dont need that! So this was partly the reason for the med change. I'm fighting a deep depression at present. I'm not sure if previous Pdoc knew this was a possible side effect of oxazepam. I remember him saying oxazepam is the least potent benzo there is so taking daily would be no problem. It was recemended I dont take a straight sleep med either.

What to do?

Hey reco50,

I've noticed there is 30min - 60min after taking the med when it does really help you sleep.