Need direction for research

Dear Pharmacology Geeks:

I admire you...I barely got through high school chemistry, and I'm pretty new at searching the Web.  Here's my question:

Retinal detachment is listed as one of the infrequent side effects of Cymbalta.  I don't know how to search this on the web because they don't tell you anything about this at the Eli Lilly site--and I assume this event was reported during the trials.  How do I find out if this was a random event during the drug trial?  Or can the drug really cause retinal tears? (Even if it's "infrequent.")

I have read everything on Cymbalta on Crazymeds, the Eli Lilly site, and on Drugs.com.  I don't understand how you find a detailed report on the research.

Thank you for any guidance you can give me.  I appreciate the information you all post on crazyboards!

olga

Dear Pharmacology Geeks:

I admire you...I barely got through high school chemistry, and I'm pretty new at searching the Web.  Here's my question:

Retinal detachment is listed as one of the infrequent side effects of Cymbalta.  I don't know how to search this on the web because they don't tell you anything about this at the Eli Lilly site--and I assume this event was reported during the trials.  How do I find out if this was a random event during the drug trial?  Or can the drug really cause retinal tears? (Even if it's "infrequent.")

I have read everything on Cymbalta on Crazymeds, the Eli Lilly site, and on Drugs.com.  I don't understand how you find a detailed report on the research.

Thank you for any guidance you can give me.  I appreciate the information you all post on crazyboards!

olga

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Link to pubmed:

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?db=PubMed

And here are the two articles I found by searching for "retinal," "detachment," and "antidepressant."

I found nothing on Cymbalta and retinal detachment on Pubmed.