CrazyBoards.org

I thought I had the cool Bipolar type II until...

the stupid racing thoughts kicked in. Anyways, I was just diagnosed in July and I'm finding out that loneliness and a stress reactions are what caused me to go off the deep end and not come back.

I'm taking 100 mg Lamictal (which I don't think helps because I don't think I have mood swings in the 1st place) 25 or 50 or 100 mg Seroquel for sleep (made my weight yo yo more than Anna Nicole Smith) Abilify 20 mg (for the racy thoughts during the daytime) and .5 cogentin (just started today for some tremors and muscle shakes that I've been feeling)

I used to be a former student nurse at UNLV. I worked as a mental health technician until I became nuttier than a squirrel at the tender age of 30. Did anyone here break out because of a midlife crisis like I did?

Anyways, I thought I'd introduce myself and say hello

I didn't know there was a "cool" bi-polar? I know I'd rather not have *any* bi-polar at all.

If the Lamictal isn't working, maybe you should try something else? I know it took me several tries to get to the right combination.

Anyway, welcome to the boards, I hope that you can find some answers here.

Hi, welcome.

Lamictal is a subtle drug so you aren't going to feel anything after taking a dose like with other drugs. 100mg is a typical, but low dose. It's up to your doc to decide on changing it. Lamictal is also probably not going to be as much help with racing thoughts.

Either the seroquel or the abilify can help with the racing thoughts. Taken in larger doses Seroquel is not as sedating.

If you don't have mood swings, it would be interesting to hear the symptoms forming the basis for the Bipolar II dx.

Feel free to post. PM any of the mods if you need help.

Hope you brain slows down soon! ;)

cheers, a.m.