CrazyBoards.org

"I prefer you a little manic"

I think this is the first time I've posted a topic, but I just had to put this out there. I'd like to hear your thoughts.

I'm a nurse executive, and I run a 120 bed short term rehab. My administrator, and all the department heads know that I'm bipolar. It's never really been an issue. After I had my gastric bypass last summer, I had a problem with mania because of the poor absorption of my Seroquel. I took a week off, got my head screwed on straight, and started taking more Seroquel. Got back to work, no problem. My boss (also my best friend), was very supportive and understanding.

I started having trouble sleeping, and feeling a little hypomanic. I was so freaked out by this, that I started going up on the Seroquel, fearful that I'd get down that mania road and spend ANOTHER 20K, like I did the last time. My boss calls me in the office and tells me that one of the department heads came to her and told her that I "was stoned out of her mind" at morning meeting.

I was horrified. She was very understanding, and concerned too. She told me that I need to cut back on the Seroquel, because I can't afford to have that rumor going around (I have 140 people working for me--it would be employment suicide, not to mention a risk to my license). She told me that "she preferred me a little manic".

I just don't know how I feel about this whole thing. I can't afford to have my reputation thrown in the toilet, and I can't afford to get manic again. I'm now scaling back on my Seroquel, and today I feel GREAT. Great scares me. I love great. I hate great.

I'd appreciate your feedback ;)

I think this is the first time I've posted a topic, but I just had to put this out there. I'd like to hear your thoughts.