CrazyBoards.org

Just saying hello

Hi everyone, I just joined the site because I have been having problems with people being able to understand what I am going through. I'm relatively newly diagnosed (December '07)with BP1 with a hx of panic attacks, OCD and PTSD symptoms. Only reason I ended up being diagnosed in December was because I went through a very, very traumatic breakup and almost went off the deep end.

Anyway, while it is still a little difficult to accept, it is helpful to be able to give a name to something that has casued me problems for years. Right now I am trying to find the right cocktail of meds and have had some issues with that (I was pulled out of work for a week by my pdoc and therapist). I'm having a hard time balancing everything because I am also in a new relationship that is too promising to put on the back burner because of my issues. ON TOP OF THAT (here's the real kicker), I am a mental health professional. So I am having difficulty dealing with the irony of my profession and my illness.

So I joined this site to learn through others' experiences and to hopefully be able to contribute information or insight as well.

I don't know how you guys do the cool bottom margin with your meds, so here is what I am taking:

Lamictal 150, Effexor XR 37.5 (just started today), Klonopin .5 PRN, and Ambien 10

I recently tried Cymbalta for a month but it was horrible. Prior to that, I took Wellbutrin up to 300, but pdoc took me off because Neurologist thinks I may have Temporal Lobe Epilepsy ;) The Wellbutrin/Lamictal combo worked wonders for me.

So, nice to meet everyone. I am happy to have found a community that covers so many relevant topics.

hi meshell,

welcome to CB ;)

sounds like you're in the right place,

I've gained so much since joining, there are some awesome people here

jump right in to posting,

meg

ps- to get the thing at the bottom: