CrazyBoards.org

Psychotic State here from New York. I didn't see a welcome subforum (aside from the "green" rules subforum) so I figured I'd drop a thread in here seeings how... well I belong in this subforum. I'm a 35 year old male that was diagnosed very late with Bipolar type 1. I found a really smart Psychiatrist about 7 years back who actually gave me a real diagnoses that could then be treated after being cared for by some less than ideal "Doctors" that had me diagnosed from everything but bipolar. It wasn't until I met this particular Doc that actually did a comprehensive assessment of my entire history... especially my childhood. Mania, insomnia, auditory/visual hallucinations during manic times. Fun childhood ;) Anyhoot, I'm doing well now and have been pretty stable now since late 2005 (minus a few minor episodes). I work as an R.N. in a state Psychiatric Center here in NY so I really dig my work. It can get stressful but it's appealing due to my circumstances, and I really can relate and have empathy for my clients I care for. Luckily I never ended up there. Up until I was diagnosed at 28 I spent a lot of times abusing and using to mask my symptoms. In particular opiates and alcohol. It caused me a lot of trouble more than once but I work on my addiction history daily through Narcotics Anonymous. It's been a life saver as far as that half of the dual diagnoses.

Well... just thought I'd drop a hello. So, Hello!

Hey there -

I've always found it interesting that those with mental issues work with those with mental issues. I agree that it makes one more empathetic and leads to more understanding about patients. I've heard that the best counselors and therapists are those with problems themselves. The whole "takes one to know one" thing.

Welcome!

Guest Guest_Psychotic State_*

Hey there -