CrazyBoards.org

Spaced out on going to work. Again. What do I do?

Guest Obieland

I'm a preschool teacher, it's part-time, but it's my only job.

I'm really good at teaching, and I love all the kids... but I missed work today. Again. I spaced out through my alarm, and didn't wake up until I was already terribly late, and then I was so embarrassed that I hid under my covers and spaced out to avoid my own stupidity until it was too late to go at all! It's such a lame, passive, lame thing to do.

I've already done this two or three times, before I went off my adderall -- I've been off for a few weeks, in part because I thought it'd be easier to wake up in the morning without the adderall withdrawal and adderall-induced insomnia of doom... but now that it's here in writing that looks like a really dumb strategy, and possibly bullshit.

When I missed work before, I let people assume that I was sick, which is sort of true I guess, or I chalked it up to my insomnia, which they know about.

But it's terribly unprofessional and not what good teachers do! The people at work are laid-back and I don't think I'll get fired for it or anything, but they/I do think we ought to be professional, and I feel awful about leaving everyone high and dry today. Whenever somebody is out, there is a mad scramble to find enough coverage, and I didn't even call in sick and give them any warning, I just didn't show up!

argh.

Sorry this is long.

What should I say when I go in tomorrow, and what should I do to prevent myself from doing this again?

I have 2 alarm clocks and a clock radio for those times when I absolutely have to get up on time. a good 4th backup would be a lamp with a timer to prime your body for sun up.

a.m.

p.s. You are on your own for excuses/apologies, kiddo! ;)