CrazyBoards.org

I need advice

I'm thinking about moving far away for several reason, but I'm literally scared of myself. The last time I tried, I pretty much had a total disconnect from reality.

Here's the back story. (Sorry it's long)

Last time I moved, I had been starting to get manic for a few months. I thought I was getting depressed, but my friends noticed that I was hyper, getting up early, and switching from angry to euphoric. I think it was some sort of dysphoric/irritable mania. Anyway, a week before I moved, something happened in my life which really set me off. I was in a terrible mood for a week straight.

Finally, it came time for me to move. I actually moved, but when I arrived at the new place, I literally broke from reality. I was manic and depressed at the same time. I could not stop pacing, and I could not sleep even with melatonin. My mind was racing, but the thoughts were very dark. I started having suicidal thoughts (first time ever), and I scared myself. I wasn't making much sense either.

Long story short, I stayed up for 72 hours straight, acted so crazy that others knew something was up, and every decision I made felt like life or death. It was 72 hours of heart pounding panic, and it felt like I had an IV of epinephrine. It came out of the blue, and I was actually excited to move. I was totally out of control and definitly a danger to myself due to general recklessness and suicidal thoughts. I probably should've been hospitalized. I scared myself so bad I moved back.

The thing is, how do I know this won't happen again if I move? I'm taking medication now, but I'm still worried. Lamictal isn't exactly a powerful antimanic, but it seems to be doing the trick so far.

Should I avoid the move all together? I'd like to think that I can do it.

Should I ask for a benzo or zyprexa when I move in case it happens again?

Have any of you ever had an episode this intense, and what did you do?