CrazyBoards.org

The list below is my combo...While I'm not a doctor, some supplements do better than take the place of certain medications. Consult an open minded doctor when considering the list below (listed in order of importance for me):

1. Lamictal 600mg (Daily)

2. Lithium Orotate 135mg-150mg (Daily/Dose Varies)

3. Inositol 2g to 4g (Daily/Dose Varies)

4. GABA 1g to 2g (Daily/Dose Varies)

5. Desoxyn 5mg (Daily/Will Likely Increase)

6. Seroquel 50mg-200mg (PRN/Dose Varies)

7. Ativan 1mg (PRN)

3. and 4. have been real life savers, with 3. being the one I found out about most recently. It really has filled the gap between 1. and 2. After 4., I have never had to take Risperdal again. Ever.

Food for thought. Discuss...or not.

some supplements do better than take the place of certain medications

Are you suggesting lithium orotate is in some way superior to lithium carbonate or lithium citrate?

After #6, if you are taking 200 mg+ regularly, you shouldn't need Risperdal, at least not for psychosis. Seems like there's the possibility of trimming your substance list further.

Ok, I'll take the bait... How did you end up taking Lithium-Orotate, Inositol and Gaba and what do you think they do for you?

a.m.

Lithium-orotate is a type of Lithium. Lithium-orotate is Lithium bound to orotic acid which makes it Lithium B13. Proportionally speaking, less Lithium B13 is required to cross the blood brain barrier than Lithium Carbonate or Lithium Citrate. This means a lower dose, and fewer side effects. Don't get me wrong, it is no panacea; but the Carbonate and Citrate cannot safely do what it can safely do. If your body were capable of tolerating high doses of Carbonate and Citrate, yes, you could reach the same point, but why would you want to even if you could?

Inositol is commonly found in B vitamin complexes.

GABA is Gamma aminobutyric acid, and it can be grown in plants as well as synthesized.