CrazyBoards.org

Racing thoughts

I started having this problem about five or six years ago. It would often occur when I was sitting quietly reading, which I did often since I was a graduate student in English literature at that time. Now it sometimes happens when I'm reading or sitting at my computer. Perhaps intensely concentrating on something is the trigger.

Anyway, at first I simply feel dizzy. Then the words I'm looking at will start to vibrate and jump from the dizziness. After that they start to scream inside my head and seem to be moving rapidly back and forth. I shut my eyes tight but the screaming words continue. Then every thought screams in my head and seems to move at incredible speed. There's nothing I can do but wait for it to go away.

Thankfully, this doesn't happen very often, but I really hate it when it does.

I was wondering what racing thoughts were like for different people. So please describe them for me so I can better understand, Thanks for any input.

I really only have racing thoughts when I'm in the middle of a manic episode. It's one of the last symptoms to appear.

When I'm manic, my thoughts speed up, but not as much as you might think. I don't generally have more than one thought at a time either. My thoughts just become incessant. From the moment I open my eyes until the moment I fall asleep, my mind is filled with constant chatter. There is not a single moment during the day where my mind is silent. I can't stop it either.

I like to compare it to wikipedia. I begin to think about something, and then I link to something else. The individual thoughts are brief and usually unproductive.

Here's an example of how I would think: