CrazyBoards.org

ADs Make Me Crazy(er)

Hi, newbie here.  Need your help and input please. :P

I'm 29, started having severe mood swings and migraines when I was 6 (happy one second, bottomless pit crying the next).  Major depression started when I was 11/12.  Was hospitalized most of the time between 13 and 17.  Most ADs did nothing at this time. 

I was put on Norpramin(Desipramine) when I was 15 and it was like I was on crack - I felt better than I had ever felt, happy, slept 3-4 hours a night and wanted to GO GO GO all day.  This was considered a good thing since before all I wanted to do was sleep or die.  After being released from the institution(seriously) I didn't take my meds regularly and ended up going up and down.  Mostly down.  Been on about 10 different ADs, plus lithium(made me tired, forgetful, fat), various sleeping pills, and AdderallXR(made me want to start my own Fight Club).  Tried the Norpramin again and it had no effect at all. :)

I have an appt. to see a psychiatrist after a 1&1/2 year break.  The ADs I was prescribed before made me :

A)Feel way up, better than perfect, and better than everyone else for a week or 2 until I came crashing down and felt depression & anger crawling under my skin like ravenous cockroaches ready to eat me alive (Lexapro)

or

B)Just the ravenous cockroaches.(Effexor)

or

C)Forgetful/ angry/ blah (Prozac)

Lately I've been up and down throughout the day: wake up happy or depressed, then change mood after a few hours, repeat all day with at least one 2-3 hour period where I want to die(or kill someone else) and one 2-3 hour period where I'm ecstatic.

What the hell is it?  Does anyone else go through this?  Has anything helped you?

Sorry this is so long.  I'm having a coherent moment and wanted to get it all out before I forgot or changed mood. ;)

TIA

PS: Almost forgot to add that in between major ups and downs, I'm mostly dealing with fatigue, brain fog, forgetfulness.

Oh Tia,