CrazyBoards.org

Not enough stimulation!

foley

Hi all- (SORRY SO LONG, REQUIRES BACKGROUND)

I have a question I'd like as much feedback on as possible. I have been using stimulants since about 5-6 years ago when I needed to study for the GRE and realized I could not concentrate for 10 min let alone 2-4 hours daily needed.

I was prescribed Ritalin, began at a low dose (I forget mg) and climbed up gradually as needed, to be taken just when I needed to study. It worked great until I got as high as 20mg, at which point I was jittery and a little irritated.

I was switched to Adderall. Much better. I have continued to take Adderall, throughout my 4 yrs of grad school, and I still use it now for my work. My work is almost all at my desk and requires long stretches of concentration and attention to detail. Murder when I am not medicated or when, for some reason, the Adderall is not effective.

My last pdoc (a psychiatry resident) prescribed me 20mg of Adderall XR, which was great because it could last even 8 hours sometimes. Then I had to switch to a new pdoc, and for the past 16 mos. have been seeing a Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner (she can prescribe).

About a year ago, during a routine physical, my GP heard a 'bounding heart' on me, and sent me for a consult with a cardiologist to make sure the Adderall wasn't causing ill effects. He did an EKG, and pronounced me totally normal, said the amount of Adderall I was taking was perfectly safe and that the slightly elevated heart rate was normal of those on this medication, but not to worry.

Well, my pdoc has remained extremely wary, despite the dismissal from the cardiologist. She doesn't want me taking more than 10mg a day now! And she won't let me take the XR, only the short-acting. Well, as many of you know, that only lasts, if I'm lucky, 3 hours. Not enough to get me through the work day.