CrazyBoards.org

i may be prescribed lithium (300mg to start) in addition to my current med cocktail. i would just want to know what you guys' firsthand experiences are when you first started it. what SEs, and other problems you encountered. thanks.

staying well,

carmex

Hey Carmex,

I'm a relative newbie to lithium as well, I started on 450 mg's at the start of December. I've tried Epilum before but had to stop it after the first week because of a bad liver function test result. I'm also on 60 mg Cymbalta and 200 mg Seroquel.

At first it was ok, not much to report, then after about 3 weeks I started getting some heavy side effects, possibly due to the cocktail of AD and lithium. I was sweating a lot. I had tremors in my hands and whenever I had to do some co-ordinated movement like things as simple as drinking from a glass then I would have serious muscle twitches, I also had difficulties in speaking, again muscle twitches on my face. I had to drink through a straw for almost two weeks.

To be honest I was ready to stop taking it but some people from my group therapy told me to let it run it's course. They were right, after about a week and a half to two weeks everything returned to normal. I should be increasing my dosage this Thursday.

As for results as a mood stabiliser I can't really say I've noticed all that much although I have stopped random crying attacks that I've been having. Anyway good luck ;) I hope it all turns out great for you.

JT

The only side effect I got from lithium was a fairly mild tremor. Like jaytee's, it went away after a few weeks. I haven't noticed much in the way of mood stabilization yet (on 1200mg), but we're gonna look at raising the dose after I get this next serum level back.

I started 800 mg of Lithium during a hospital stay in September. The side effects of dehydration and dizziness went after a fortnight, and it has given me my life back, I love it.

Guest Guest_sowfsydemike_*