CrazyBoards.org

Jaw Pain - Headaches - Which Med Is It

Hello,

I have been on 100 mg Topamax and 25 mg Celexa for about 6 weeks. 3 mgs of xanax a day, tried Klonopin but discontinued it.

I started 25 mg Lamictal about 10 days ago and 2 days ago I started to get bad headaches only on 25 mgs and yesterday a mild form of lock jaw and jaw pain on left side so that I can't open my mouth all the way without pain has started.

I'm a vet with meds and side effects and I'm okay with going through this if it goes away but I have been googling to see if this is a common side effect but haven't found anything. Is this anything anyone has heard of or experienced? I can't get into my Pdoc for 2 weeks he is on vaca.

I've been on every single bi-polar med out there. Got TD from Abilify and Geodon. I'm kind of at my lest resort here been dealing with this for 15 years and I really need this to work for me.

Any insight would be more than welcome.

I'm 36 and in pretty good health. Don't really drink often and I'm a casual smoker.

Was on Seroquel but the weight gain was too much too fast and scary (but it worked)

Tried Tegretol again but it made me break out in a rash and caused massive joint pain and numbmess so had to quit that about a month ago.

Over the years have been on Lithium, Depakote, blah blah blah

Lamictal has been known to cause headaches not infrequently for people, and some people also have muscle soreness from it, too. I would guess it's from that. A lot of the time it gets better over time after your body adjusts to it, but some people have it recur every time they raise the dose until they finally stay at a steady level for a while. Other people would know better than I would what tends to help with it in the meantime. I know it's come up before, but I forget what they've said, and it didn't happen to me when I took it, so I didn't have to deal with it myself.