CrazyBoards.org

When I'm studying I get thoughts in my head 'I have to make it to the end of this passage/finish the assignment before my mother speaks to me/the tv programme ends/the next tv advert comes on or else my dog will die/my mother will die/I will die/my sisters will die'. It is wrecking all my fun studying. I havent touched my doctorate in about 6 weeks.

When Im at work I get thoughts like 'I have to get these numbers entered into the computer/ these files put in their place before anyone speaks in the office/the song on the radio ends or something awful will happen'. These thoughts again are driving me mad and depressing the life out of me. It's got worse since they lowered my Prozac. Could it be OCD? My mother suffered severe OCD when I was a child.

blackbird x

Yes that is definitely a symptom of OCD.

The fact that your mother had OCD indicates that you had a 'possibility' of becoming Obsessive-Compulsive yourself because of 1. The genetic factor and 2. From observing your mother.

Edited by Leo

May I ask - my Pdoc says I have tendencies. I can see that this to me sound absolutely OCD - what are tendencies then?

May I ask - my Pdoc says I have tendencies. I can see that this to me sound absolutely OCD - what are tendencies then?

Your doctor may just not have a clear picture to give you the diagnosis and is waiting to see/hear more from you. Tendencies means you have some thoughts/behaviors that look like OCD but possibly not full-blown OCD.

For example, my OCD doesn't really interfere with my life or functioning, so technically I don't have OCD exactly. Something like that.

My symptoms are not nearly as serious as this!

I am wastin peoples time?

Sleep stuff kicking in. - edited to make sense.

Edited by Karin

I had my diagnosis of OCD confirmed yesterday and I am being referred to a t-doc (whom I don't have, just a p-doc) for CBT. Looks like they can't medicate this one with SSRIs for fear of sending me bananas-manic again.

blackbird x