CrazyBoards.org

What Makes a Legitimate Cutter

lunar47

I've been cutting on and off for the last 4 years. But never in all that time have I needed stitches. I keep having this recurrent obsessive thought that if I don't cut deep enough to need stitches than I can never truly say I'm a cutter. And I want to cut that deep. I want to hold on to this sick part of my mind. It's a distorted sense of self validation. I envy girls with deeper scars than I do. Has anyone else experienced something like this?

I'm that way - always was an "amateur' and have felt rather "under the radar" but i slipped yesterday - so discombobulated over hubby's driving and why deep down it feels like he is just leaving me, left undeeded, opinions cast aside for the greater good of the almighty right to drive on a road.

so i slipped - don't need any medical treatment - though it really stings where i got myself and now i have to hope that no one notices during my 2 upcoming workouts (swim today, bike tomorow)

so i think it all counts, i'm angry that i let myself go there, i hadn't done anything since last march - aside from the little cuts on my knuckles that appeared recently - i have no clue how those happened.

take care

The idea that you need to cut to a certain severity, or amount, or way, or whatever in order to be a "real cutter" seems kind of... ridiculous?

Self harm comes in many shapes and sizes. People pick skin, pull hair, head bang, cut- just to name a few. But no matter what flavor of SI you engage in it all comes down to the same thing- an unhealthy way of coping. No way of doing that is more "true" than another.