CrazyBoards.org

Going back to work...

I'm in a fucking chatty mood today but since this is on my mind here goes - this place is a wealth of information and full of insight and experiences so I'm taking advantage of it wub.gif

Okay, so I'm scared to go back to work. I'm in my last semester of school and I am burnt out so I don't see myself going further in my education. Once I have my degree I can ask for more money when I job hunt though so that part will pay off.

My experiences at jobs are filled with ups and downs. The joys at being able to work and be productive comingled with the terror of going to work while in a manic state and having people think "gee she's super funny today" or "god damn she's being snippy" or avoiding work because I need a mental health day (which is acceptable in my field since we DO need to take them and are expected not to abuse them) because the depression has me down.

There wasn't a day though that I didn't worry about being "found out" about having bipolar or the feeling that I was being dishonest somehow in not disclosing it. Like - the many times I wanted to tell a coworker that yes I'm bipolar and yes I can be super funny but the crash is a bitch... and to ask for support. I'm leery of it.

I have never ever been able to cope with the paranoia of wondering if coworkers are talking about me - and if they are, big fucking deal any way (right?) I have only been able to identify and even share with my pdoc and tdoc my paranoia as there's shame attached to it.