CrazyBoards.org

Beta-blockers for Akathisia

Hey, I'm relatively new to the these boards, not so much to the chat room, hopefully no one has already discussed this but I am interested in beta-blockers such as propranolol or metoprolol. I have already spoken to my psychiatrist about the use of Cogentin to combat akathisia, but her opinion and that of Wikipedia don't agree. She has told me on two different occasions that Cogentin won't work for akathisia. I have already tried the benzos Klonopin and Ativan but they did not provide much relief. I am wondering what other bipolar sufferers or people on anti-psychotics who experience akathisia have to say about this. I interested in switching back to Abilify because it is the only psych med that has ever done anything for my depression but it comes with the intolerable akathisia. She never mentioned beta-blockers after denying me Cogentin even though it was given to me while I was in the hospital. I like the relief from depression that Ablifiy provides but these beta-blockers seem like a requirement for me to be back on it. I've never met anybody on propranolol or metoprolol. Let me know what you know.

When I was in the hospital, they recommended Cogentin (actually pretty much FORCED me to take it cause I wouldn't stop moving and was in agony). Then when I got out, my pdoc seconded that Cogentin helps Akathesia. It's not the only thing...those other things you mention probably work, as does Benadryl even, but Cogentin always worked every time. It was sort of a miracle. Only reason I don't like to take it is cause I get weird side effects from it, but I'm sure most don't.