CrazyBoards.org

The Newer MAOI's. Do they only come in patch form?

MAOI's.

I hear they have a new variety that don't cause as many food no-no's as the original.

Are these newer one only available through patches?

Patches scare me becuz I once did the BirthControl patch and it kept falling off- every single day no matter what. So silly me kept putting on a brand-new one each time. One morning I awoke with the full understanding of my actions becuz of the amount of blood lost. iCK.

Anyways I am under the impression that patches do not take to my skin very well and are utterly worthless.

I will be seeing pdoc tomorrow to discuss our action plan and my stymptoms together. Not even sure if MAOI's will be an option btu if they are, I'd like to know if the newer version comes in a pill from or if there is a pill form or an injectable version that also has less side-affect with certain foods. Right now its like I'm "window shopping" for meds byt of course I am not a doctor or scientist so I am just doin a lil research here and there.

There is one MAOI in the US available in patch form. It's called Emsam. It delivers the medication selegiline when applied transdermally. It comes in three strengths 6mg/24hrs, 9mg/24hrs & 12mg/24hrs.

The 6mg/24hrs strength does not require following the MAOI diet during it's use.

The 9mg/24hrs & 12mg/24hrs do require following the MAOI diet while on the medication. All other restrictions of being on an MAOI (drug interactions) still apply at all doses.

I don't think that any reversible MAOI's currently available in the United States. Moclobemide is not approved for use in the US.

Mayteana

Actually, it looks like manerix does have some food restrictions, though the warnings I'm seeing are less intense than those for some other MAOI's.