CrazyBoards.org

Running away from depression

This probably sounds a bit stupid, but for the last month or so, I've felt like depression is right behind me. Like it'll catch me if I don't keep running from it. I'm studying constantly, and seeing patients, and revising with friends, and generally keeping my head so busy that I don't have time to cogitate or let the depression in. But I'm exhausted, and I don't know how much longer I can keep doing this. I'm scared, because I've got my Finals in about four months' time, and I can't afford for the depression to take me out for that. I've given five years of my life to this course, I have to graduate.

Since I was 17, the pattern has looked like this:

8 months of hypomania

6 months of depression

6 months of normality.

9 months of hypomania

10 months of crippling depression, then saw my GP. Started fluoxetine.

6 months of "up and down," I can't put my finger on where I was then. I'd have a couple of weeks of being really productive, then a couple of weeks of feeling really low.

7 months of depression again, alternating between depressed-with-no-energy-whatsoever and depressed-but-agitated

5 months of relative "normality." Or possibly a little bit hypomanic - I thought I was fine, but in retrospect, there are the huge achievements and grandiose plans and unexplained debts. Hmm.

Then a horrible mixed episode last term, with full-on psychosis. Started Quetiapine, and was feeling OK by about the Christmas holidays. Got some work done so I passed my exams in January.

And now, every time I stop mentally running, that heavy teary guilty depressed feeling is getting in again. So I'm working harder to keep it out, so it only gets me when I'm in the shower, or walking home, or otherwise not keeping my mind too busy to let it cogitate on things. And an ever-growing part of me just wants to go home and hide under the duvet (preferably with a bottle of vodka, but I've given up alcohol to see if that helps.)