CrazyBoards.org

Seroquel and Parnate

Guest Liam Towmey

Hi I'm liam,

I have been brousing this site for the past 6 months and have found it very informative.

I would like to post the following question for anyone out there who may be able to help.

I was prescribed Paranate 20mg and Abilify 10mg three months ago as I became unable to sleep at night on Paranate and Abilify alone.

My doctor prescribed some sleepers to help with the sleep.

I returned to the doctor two weeks ago and explained that I had a lot of anxiety and also due to my adictive nature ( non active alcholic)felt it unwise to continue with sleeping tablets.

My doctor has now prescribed Seroquel to help with sleep and anxiety without the Abilify.

I am now on Paranate 20 mg( taking 10mg at 8.30am and a further 10mg at 12 mid day) along with 50mg of Seroquel at 9.30pm before I retire for the night.

With these dosages I now find I sleep twelve hours at a minimum and find my anxiety has increased to an almost panic stage on wakening particularly during the day time.

My anxiety has increased since taking the combination of Seroquel and Paranate.

If there is anyone out there who might know something about this I would be very grateful for your interest in me and your responce.

Kind Regards,

Liam

How long have you been on Parnate? The first few weeks are kind of rough for a lot of people. I don't have big problems with anxiety, but I still needed to pop a few Ativan. Probably not a good idea if you were an alcoholic. Vistaril (an antihistimine) is sometimes used for anxiety for people with substance abuse problems. I think it is ok with Parnate.

The insomnia is very intense on Parnate. Low dose trazodone is perfectly safe and non-addictive - I take it myself.

Nardil is another MAOI that is less stimulating and might be better for you.

Liam, the boards are easier to use if you register. It's easy to do and your anonymity is maintained as long as you aren't using your real full name.