CrazyBoards.org

SSRIs and Buspar make me more anxious

Hellos everyone. Newbie here who is having big time issues with anxiety. I've been diagnosed with GAD but it feels more like I am having an everlasting panic attack. When I'm not on meds the middle of my brain constantly feels like it has high voltage electricity flowing through it. I've tried Prozac, Paxil, Celexa and Zoloft; all of them made me more anxious. Was put on Buspar, seemed to help at first but it too ultimately made me feel more anxious. Tried Wellbutrin, but that made me feel like I was given speed while locked up in a small cell in a turkish prison that was covered in millipedes. Benzos are good but no doc wants you to be on them too long. Now I'm on Remeron and Neurontin. I can tolerate them but they make me tired and really spacey and seem to just mask the anxiety as opposed to get rid of it. Even though it is fun to be a space cadet now and then, it would be even more fun to feel normal without any anxiety. Can anyone relate to my sob story or at least point me in the right direction concerning meds. Thanks for reading.

Hey,

I have the same problem with SSRIs - I'm on Celexa at the moment, but I have to take it with Seroquel, an atypical antipsychotic which calms me down. The two of them seem to work well together, but Celexa alone would drive me up the wall. Seroquel has been my anxiety godsend.

Remeron was pretty good for me too, but I ended up coming off it.

There are some docs who will give you benzos long term, especially if you don't have addiction issues.

Anyway, I can relate to your SSRI problems. Hope you stick around ;)

Trazodone can help with anxiety too. Also beta-blockers.. I use Xanax & Nadolol to treat my anxiety. Nadolol gives me this inner calm that just makes me feel settled. The only problem with BB's is that they lower your blood pressure, so you have to be careful with the amount you take.