CrazyBoards.org

I am on prozac and abilify, will that effect my use of the drug ecstasy (MDMA)?

I head that SSRIs kill the high completly, which is dissapointing to say the least.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

I think that you really need to post this on the substance abuse board.  I have no personal experience, but I do know that an SSRI+MDMA combo can cause serotonin syndrome which can be fatal.  I hope someone else can help here.

Katie ;)

I have no idea, but your use of ecstasy might effect your ability to not be a spaced-out idiot.  Unless, of course, that is what you are going for. 

BTW, how old are you?  I thought ecstasy died out a long time ago.  Guess I am just an old fart.

LOL @ old fart.

The only reason I know anything about it is a psych friend thinks in certain clinical uses it could be a great tool. He would never advocate anyone self medicating with E.

Ive heard the low after the high isn't so great. Seratonin depletion isn't a good idea for crazy people.

CC~

ugh dont mix this stuff.. one time i was on 150mg effexor immediate release (this was back in 1998), and i took one hit of ecstasy and i thought it did nothing, i sat around and played video games while everyone else got caught up in conversation and started "bonding" like people often do on E.  anyways, later on the next day i went to take my 150mg effexor and i got really sick and puked it up, and THEN i started tripping for the next week and a half!!

anyways after major delusions and hallucinating and thinking i was going to move far away and start a career, i dropped out of college and then reality came back in.  eventually i salvaged my college career and got the degree, but it was majorly bad.

so yeah dont mix the SSRIs and E. thanx. ;)

Yes, there is some evidence to suggest that mdma and other amphetamines are counteracted by ssris.