CrazyBoards.org
Sign in to follow this  
serge

Jobs that people with Bipolar are not suitable for?

I was just recently diagnosed with BP2 after nearly killing myself in a mixed state. So now I'm on lamictal and am feeling so much better after a few weeks of hell while going thru the increasing dosage process.

Anyway, due to my extreme irritation and rage, I went bitch mode on my boss and decided to quit and find a job (the current job is only 4 mths old). So I sent out a couple of job applications and one of the companies replied and I'm scheduled for an interview next week!

Now, the thing is... I'm an IT professional... And the job that I applied for and have gotten a reply from is for a Marketing position. I was clearly out of my mind when I applied for it but the company who replied must be crazier. So now... Should I go for the interview? It's going to need alot of moving around, PR, campaign management and stuff. I'm interested in new responsibilities but I'm not sure if I'm considered stable enough to take on the unknown. I read that we should avoid stressful situations...

What should I do? Turn down the interview?

Go to the interview. The worst thing that will happen is you won't get the job, but you will get interviewing practice. The best thing would be you get the job.

Guest Vapourware

I agree with crtclms, just go to the interview and see what happens. Hopefully you'll get the job but it's never guaranteed, so don't think so far ahead.

As for BPers and jobs - I think it's wrong to put limits on yourself simply based on a label. You may need to adjust your work style and work/life balance now that you know what might trigger episodes, but it doesn't necessarily mean that you are now confined to certain tasks only.

I was just recently diagnosed with BP2 after nearly killing myself in a mixed state. So now I'm on lamictal and am feeling so much better after a few weeks of hell while going thru the increasing dosage process.