CrazyBoards.org

Jumping into the deep end

Hi Tomboy....

I've been playing with this MI game for several years now and my experience has been that it doesn't just go away.  I think it's great that you decided to do therapy, and even better that you are seeing a pdoc for meds.  Personally, I wouldn't worry about trying meds that didn't work for you before.  But I would be sure to tell the pdoc all about your experiences with them and what happened when you were on them.

Meds are strange.  I've found that some I liked in the past no longer worked the next time around.  Conversely, I've had some work beautifully.  I think a great deal depends on the cocktail you end up with.  The pdoc will best be able to judge that.  It sounds like you are on the right path!  I hope you continue to post and tell us what happens with your meds.  I'm interested.

Dan~

TomBoy, a formal welcome ;)

It sounds like you are doing some great things to take care of yourself. I hope it continues to help you.

As far as the pdoc and meds, **just my own experience** but when I saw my new pdoc and we talked about meds, I told him upfront that there were meds that I had tried/didn't work or messed me up even more. He listened and we came up with my combo.

He's bad about doing call backs, but good about hearing what I say about meds.

good luck!

spike

Welcome aboard Tomboy.  In my opinion, (dontcha just love all these opinions) ;) , I would want to nip that puppy in the bud with meds before it becomes a real monster.  I think it is a good idea to take care of the problem before it gets so bad that you feel like nothing will work ever again.  Problem with depression is most of us secretly think it either won't come back or that it won't be as bad as we remembered.  In my experience it unfortunately does.

Get the all the help that is offered, it usually makes the battle easier once we get past the stigma and uncertainty.  Take care, Sulu