CrazyBoards.org

Sign in to follow this  
nibblerd

Bipolar and Creativity

87 members have voted

1. 1. Has bipolar disorder influenced your creative drive in a significant way?

• Yes, bipolar I
    • Yes, bipolar II
    • Yes, schizoaffective (bipolar type)
    • Kinda
    • No

At age 7 I was taking my family's computers, VCRs, TVs (ouch!) etc apart, repairing them, whatever. Maybe that's not quite creative..

In grade 5 I was extremely excited to be able to join band or orchestra. I couldn't decide which, so I convinced the school to drop P.E. because of my dance stuff and do both.

I was a very creative writer throughout school, always going all-out on any writing assignment or essay and in my spare time I wrote a 587 page Harry Potter fan fiction in grade 7. I took dance classes (ballet, jazz, tap, "hip hop" [it's bullshit]) for four years (10-14) and that was a pretty fun way to burn energy (where I also got to meet cute girls). I also liked doing standup comedy and my family has always said I'm a funny person.

This isn't a scientific study, just a poll of the BP population on the site :)

If you feel more creative, how has it manifested?

Edited by nibblerd

What makes you think there's any connection between these things and your bipoar disorder?

I said Yes, However. I already had the creative drive... its just when I'm depressed I don't give a shit about anything enough to actually do it. So my creative drive is gone because I can't act on it. I would have to agree with the posts before me, I would say it doesn't change how creative I am, Just how much I act on it depending on my mood.

This has been addressed here many, many, MANY times, but I'll say it again. There are a lot of people in the world who are creative without being MI and there are a lot of creative MI people out there and there are a lot of nutters out there who don't have a creative bone in their body.