CrazyBoards.org

Though I could be wrong, when I studied bipolar in psychology classes, I was taught that in order to have mania, you needed psychosis to be present, but that was when I was taught back in 2006. Information could have changed of course over the past 5 years.

So based on the lack of psychosis, it would be hypo mania, but maybe not far from the border. (that's my opinion).

Though I could be wrong, when I studied bipolar in psychology classes, I was taught that in order to have mania, you needed psychosis to be present, but that was when I was taught back in 2006. Information could have changed of course over the past 5 years.

So based on the lack of psychosis, it would be hypo mania, but maybe not far from the border. (that's my opinion).

That is not correct. Check the DSM criteria.

I don't think psychosis has to be present for it to be a manic episode. psychotic features are, I think, part of what leads to a diagnosis of bp1, tho.

No. Not so much. Although, the presence of psychosis does rule out bpII.

The DSM says the episode has to last more than 2 weeks (if not treated), not induced by meds, no psychosis, and you can still function for it to be hypomania.

IMO, the distinction between hypomania and mania differs from doctor to doctor. I don't even know if the distinction is all that useful unless there is psychosis present.

No. Why am I the evening's correctrix? According to the DSM, hypomania has to last 4 days, mania 7.

The key distinction between hypomania and mania is the extent to which they impair function. Hypomania impairs functioning to a noticeable extent, but not enough to cause, "marked impairment, in social or occupational functioning."

Mania, on the other hand, "is sufficiently severe to cause marked impairments in occupational functioning or in usual social activities or relationships with others, or to necessitate hospitalization to prevent harm to self or others, or there are psychotic features."