CrazyBoards.org

Difficulty judging the degree of my illness.

So I've been put on 20mg citalopram a day by my doc for anxiety and depression. This is my first time using medication and the first time I've ever really been considered "clinically depressed".

I find it hard, probably in part due to my anxiety, to guage how ill I am. I deliberate over filling out those "how depressed are you" forms because I don't want to give the wrong impression.. but neither do I want to underestimate how I'm feeling. I think about suicide.... but not as a solution... it is more of something that I'm forced to think about by my situation. When suicide is talked about in all depression articles and videos that I look at I can't help but think about it. I consider what it is... whether it is a valuable thought... and whether I would do such a thing. I don't think about it BECAUSE i am thinking of doing it... but I think about it purely because there is nothing in life that I don't think about. So then my anxiety kicks in.... and I think, "oh god, is this suicidal ideation? am I going to lose control and have an unbearable urge to end it all?! should this be adressed? or maybe this problem is just anxiety...". So is that suicidal ideation? I mean I'm depressed.. ofcourse I'm going to think dark thoughts... but is it suicidal ideation if I'm not seeing it as an option that I want to take?

I want to know if I'm dangerously close to a line that once crossed will be impossible to climb out of... or if I'm just mildly depressed. The nature of my obsessive and intrusive thoughts/anxiety means that I really have no solid idea. Sometimes I feel like I'm on the brink of insanity and sometimes I feel like I might not even be depressed.