CrazyBoards.org

Deplin -- more info NEEDED !

Hello Eeveryone,

I have been suffering with chronic depression, GAD, panic disorder, etc. Currently, I am on 10mg lexapro that I have increased to 10 fro 7.5 within the last 2 months because I felt lexapro stopped working. I have been on lexapro for the past 5 years, gradually increasing from 2.5 mg to 10 mg over the years on as needed bases, bcs I actually felt it to lose effectiveness. So I have had a really stressful time in college and my personal life that I started to develop unbearable panic attacks. So my doctor gave me deplin 7.5 mg to augment my anti-depressant. I am not sure that it works bcs I have been taking half of the pill for the past week. Yet what makes me especially concerned -- since I am an MS in Nutrition student -- is that 7.5 mg of folate is a WHOLE lot of folic acid. As I was reading online, it could give you some side effects. Yet, Deplin is FDA approved, and I know my doctor would not give to me smth that is unsafe.I was unable to find anything about the difference btw folic acid and l-methylfolate in terms of their metabolism and toxicity. What I am worried now is the safety of taking so much folic acid. As a nutrition sudent, I know that vitamins can be very powerful nutrients, some of them are hormones ( vit. A) that regulate a lot of metabolic functions in the body. Therefore, I tend to believe that deplin works for those whose unresponsiveness to ad takes roots in folate deficiency. Yet, how safe is it to take AS MUCH folate long term, in case if it works? The DRI upper limit for folic acid is 1mg. One Deplin pill is x 7.5 as MUCH ! I would appreciate any thoughts. Thanks.

It's safe. My pdoc desperately wants me to take it but I've tried three times - scaling back each time - and had anxiety problems from it, little else. But I think most people tolerate it pretty well, whether or not it does anything for them.