CrazyBoards.org

Psychosis or Mania?

Guest Vapourware

As mentioned, you can have mania with psychosis so if the psychosis occurred during the mania, then your diagnosis is likely to be bipolar with psychotic features. If you have mood episodes and psychosis but the psychosis occurs independent of the moods as well, then your diagnosis is likely to be schizoaffective. If there's no mood episodes then it could be schizophrenia or psychosis NOS. I guess the best way of sorting out whether or not you are having mood episodes now is through mood tracking and journaling, so that you have a record as a reference.

Sorry if this is an old post but I am unsure if I have psychosis or mania as my pdoc says there not sure atm. Is there a major difference between them.

I'm not an expert but as far as i'm aware in psychiatric terms you can't be classified as clinically manic without also being psychotic, without psychosis it's hypomania. Short and sweet of it: Mania is a type of psychosis.

In my opinion if you have to ask then you probably weren't and honestly it's best not to get caught up in this kind of speculation. Just leave it at "Was there a mood element?" Again i'm no doctor but it's possible the Abilify isn't working too well and is activating you, it can do that and 20mg isn't exactly a lightweight dose, especially with 2mg of Risperdal as well.

Guest Vapourware

Not exactly, you can be in a manic state without being psychotic. You can become manic enough to become psychotic, but being manic doesn't necessarily mean you are psychotic.

Not exactly, you can be in a manic state without being psychotic. You can become manic enough to become psychotic, but being manic doesn't necessarily mean you are psychotic.

I stand corrected, I remember now it's based off how much your behaviour differs from your norm.

What you are describing sounds like mania in the past, and if your family are concerned about your moods, you may well be manic enough to be psychotic.