CrazyBoards.org

I Think I shouldn't be depressed because there are a lot of people out there who are worse off then me. I wasn't abused, I don't get bullied, it was that f****** hospital! I was sent to a mental hospital and now I have all sorts of things going on up there, what did I do, was it my fault, I feel sorry for the other girls, I'm scared, it's basically all that goes through my head! But I have food, clothes and a place to live, and some people are living on the streets begging for food or money, but here I am in my nice, cool, comfy bed typing selfishly about a depression I have when I shouldnt have it to begin with! Plus, I'm 13 and I am too young to have these feelings!

I started to have depressed feeling when I was 13, so 13 isn't to young. I hope you start to feel better soonish but having help from a therptist is a big help. A lot of younger people suffer from depression so it isn't uncommon at all. I felt the same when I was told I had depression, I am a uni student who has a loving family and awsome friends, people get depressed for different reasons, I wouldn't feel bad. One thing with helps me at least is having a routine which is easier said than done sometimes but try.

I agree that 13 isn't too young. Depression first really hit me at age 12, and I too had a place to live, clothes, and everything I needed. Sometimes there just isn't a reason. Do you have a therapist or someone you could talk to about what's going on with you?

There is no "should" or "shouldn't" when it comes to depression. It is an illness, like saying someone "shouldn't" get cancer because they have reasons to be happy. It is that simple.

please make sure your family are aware of how bad you are feeling right now and take steps to help you get the care you need, which may include medications and a therapist, as well.

Keeping up a routine as much as you can is a good idea.

Anna

Hi.