CrazyBoards.org

Is it Mania or Anxiety?

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to the feelings of mania. I have had episodes in the past that I definitely know where manic episodes. But I'm not sure what I'm feeling currently can be considered mania or just anxiety. I've been feeling anxious and have a constant nervous feeling in my stomach. The thing is I can't sit still for long. I almost feel like I am over-energized. Is this just anxiety or some type of mania.

sounds like some physical anxiety symptoms in there. I get those very same symptoms from wellbutrin. But youre not on anything anxiogenic except for lamictal and its at a high enough dose that it should be ok.

Maybe add on a beta blocker and see if it helps with the physical stuff? The work against NE and thus can sometimes feed into depression in folks that are susceptible, Might be worth a try.

Raising seroquel might be an option. A little bit of something to take the edge off. At the dose youre on its pretty much just an antihistamine / sedative for sleep.

Could be either...though the cant sit still and over-energized would make me lean toward a hypomania type thing. But I'm not going to diagnose over the internet ;-)

Can you describe it more? How are your thoughts flowing right now (regular speed, quick, tangential, organized, etc.)? How's your sleep been over hte past few days? Those sorts of things are helpful.

Guest Vapourware

Anxiety can cause the type of symptoms you are describing, you can become agitated while being anxious. There are other aspects of mania which differentiate mania from anxiety, like decreased need for sleep, racing thoughts, feeling euphoric, feeling irritable, etc. Do you experience those as well?

Anxiety and agitation can occur with either mania or depression, or in a balanced mood state.