CrazyBoards.org

Calling all web design junkies

I've decided to bite the bullet and learn how to design a website. It's become a no brainer at this point. I can teach myself and get paid as well. My boss wants me to design one for our video company.

Can anyone recommend an html editing software to use for MAC OS? Dreamweaver? Adobe Creative Suite? Rapidwearver? Amaya?

There are SO many choices now I have no idea where to start. I am not a programmer at heart but have taught myself a myriad of very complicated software programs over the years so I think I could manage on my own.

What most people do now is use a CMS where they design the template on the front end and then input the content through an editor through the back so you have a division between content and design.

With a static web page it's much more difficult for non-technical users to add and edit content.

Wordpress is the most common one but you have to stay on top of security updates.

What most people do now is use a CMS where they design the template on the front end and then input the content through an editor through the back so you have a division between content and design.

With a static web page it's much more difficult for non-technical users to add and edit content.

Wordpress is the most common one but you have to stay on top of security updates.

Thank you VE for answering.

Sorry if I am being dense here. If we already have a hosting site, domain name, etc. and do not need to setup a blog, would I be better off learning how to code with Dreamweaver? I will be the one editing and adding content, mostly videos, photos and text. We are videographers and will not be selling anything directly from the website. Just presenting our best work and quotes from our famous customers. The googling I've done mentions the WYSIWYG programs, which I thought would be easier for my visual & techie OCD mind. If I learn WordPress, will I be able to do both the front-end design and back-end content?