CrazyBoards.org

Hi everyone ...

I'm diagnosed bipolar 1 w/psychotic features. I don't know if it's accurate because I have been diagnosed with several different things over the years. Mostly bipolar though. I'm forty-six and just graduated from college in December with a B.A. in Psych Communications. (Put together my own degree.) Recently lost my father who was my main support system, so I'm feeling a bit lost.

I'm currently blogging and writing a book.

Recently feeling symptoms and lots of side effects from my meds. Hoping to tweek meds in two weeks when I see my doc. I would like a complete med change if possible. Geodon is just nasty, and Lamictal is making me fat and itchy. Thinking about trying to switch to Saphris for antipsychotic and trileptal for mood stabilzer. If anyone has tried these meds, would appreciate feedback on how you tolerated them.

I've never written on a forum before so forgive me if I make mistakes in my postings until I get the hang of it. rolleyes.gif

Welcome Crymsyn and congrats on getting your B.A. that's really great! I take Trileptal and don't really notice any side effects from it, though I had some headaches when I first started and when I increased the dose.

Thanks! I noticed that you took Geodon in the past ... was the withdrawal difficult? I've read some stuff on the internet saying that people really suffer when going off this medication.

I took it around 10 years ago so it's hard to remember exactly. I don't remember it being bad, but it really varies person to person so don't let what you've read on the internet freak you out too much. I think if you cross taper it might be a little easier, I know a lot of people seem to do that. I've never done it so don't quote me on it.

OK ... tried to post to hello forum and started a new topic ... geez, I'm not so good at this!

Starting a new topic is what everyone else does, as far as I know. :)

Welcome. I hope you enjoy it here and find what you need.

Crymsyn,