CrazyBoards.org

Hey! I am a 27 yr old student at NCSU (Go Pack!) and also work very part/time at a medical clinic. Sometimes it is impossible for me to go to class and/or work because of my panic disorder. I take mostly online classes when it is possible and in many areas of my life my anxiety/panic disorders slow me down and drag me backwards. I am (surprise surprise) a Psych major and trying to get into Grad School with a focus on Counseling. Even though I'm crazy myself, it doesn't mean I can't help others! :) My sister also has anxiety disorders and depression, my Mom had anxiety/depression, and we believe other members on that side of the family as well. I have been off/on meds since I was in high school, just over 10 years now. I have become "immune" it seems to benzo's and just switch around which ones I'm taking every 6 months or so. I have gone on and off anti-depressants sometimes due to money/no insurance or because I just want to be "tough". Currently I DO have insurance and am trying to be smart while I (finally) work towards graduation. There are times when I feel like I am doing GREAT and am going out, having fun, and holding my anxious thoughts and obsessive worries at bay but usually they overpower me and I will be in a panicked state. I have been agoraphobic before and hope like hell that won't happen again. I am in "my prime" right now, I have a wonderful, beautiful partner - Jess - of over 2 years, a lovely home and 3 fur-babies. I really want to live the best life that I can and not let my anxiety rule my life for me as it usually does. There are times when I get so down that I feel like living is worthless and I am just a burden to everyone because of my "issues" and I could just curl up on the couch for days. Again, I do have good moments -- and I have come through a lot and am still here which is pretty great. I think I was always an "anxious" child, a little worrywart...but it was after my parents broke up when I was 13-14 years old when I