CrazyBoards.org

what's so wrong with it?

I've been cutting for going on four years now. I've had periods where i've stopped but they've never lasted long. they were all because friends that knew about it had such a huge problem with it, i didn't want to upset them. but i get selfish and always go back to it. I wish i wanted to stop. but its the only thing thats ever worked for me and i don't want to give that up. i just dont get whats so wrong with it! its just a way of coping. its a less common one sure, and i think people just are scared of what they don't understand. its a tough one to understand if you don't do it so i dont blame them, but there is no doubt my friends would have much less of a problem if i just got drunk or lit up instead of cutting. its not any more destructive than those. whats wrong?

You admitted that it's destructive. Drinking is destructive, too. Even if we lived in a world where SI were more common, would that make it OK? Not really. It's still doing damage to your body.

There are other ways of coping that are positive, that can make you feel better than SI. It takes some doing to get used to it, but eventually it feels better. It makes you happier. It can be just as much as a rush. It's different, but it happiness can be a drug, too.

Are you in therapy right now?

To be honest, I struggle with this same thinking. However, whether SI is "bad" or not, the fact remains that it's destructive and maladaptive. You can damage nerves or connective tissue, like tendons. Skin that has been scarred by cutting or burning will remain more sensitive, and more prone to re-injury. There is also the risk of infection, which is no laughing matter. That's not even taking into consideration the impact it has on relationships and (for some people) self image.